We’ve done the research for drivers in the Peach State. If you’re looking for the inside scoop on car insurance in Georgia, you’ve come the right place.
What are the insurance company coverage requirements in Georgia?
As a car owner in Georgia, there are minimum requirements that all auto insurance policies must cover. These requirements include minimum liability insurance. This is to help you pay for any damages or injuries done to another driver, as a result of an accident at which you were at-fault. Your car insurance policy must meet the following amounts to be a law abiding citizen:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability for one person in one accident
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability for multiple people in one accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability
Want to add more types of coverage?
There’s no such thing as being too careful. Although the state minimums mentioned above are all you need to be in good standings with the law, we recommend you look into additional coverage in case you do get stuck in a tight spot. Here are some categories you should consider adding to:
Collision Coverage – If you hit something or something hits you, you’ll be covered.
Comprehensive Coverage – Comprehensive coverage does everything that collision coverage does. It also covers you car from vandalism, weather, and other things that can damage it.
Medical and Funeral Services Coverage – If someone is hurt or killed in an accident, this coverage helps pay for bills and final expenses.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage – If someone hits you and can’t pay for the damage, you’ll be stuck with the bill unless you have this coverage.
Not sure if your current policy is Georgia-law approved, or if you need additional coverage? Call [mapi-phone /] to talk to an agent.
What is the average cost of insurance coverage in Georgia?
Curious about what other drivers like you are paying for car insurance in Georgia? So were we. According to our research, here is the average cost for the five most affordable insurance companies:
|Average Annual Rates|
|American National Financial||$809.03|
|Coast National Insurance||$1,086.24|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
Because insurance rates vary by age, sex, and gender, learning which companies are the cheapest insurance providers in Georgia for specific drivers can be beneficial.
Why does the average cost of car insurance cost as much as it does in Georgia?
Coming up with insurance premiums is a bit complicated. Some insurance companies report using over one billion data points to determine their insurance rates. Analyzing that much data is not typical, but when going through a quote, most companies will want to know a bit more about you to determine your rate. Below are just a few examples of the data insurance companies analyze when determining rates:
- Your age
- Your driving history
- Your occupation
- Your credit score
- The make and model of your car
- Your driving style
- How much you use your car and what for
If you can improve your driving history, safety rating of your car, and other controllable variables, you could cut down on insurance premiums.
Car insurance rates for drivers can go up and down like the tide. Call an expert at [mapi-phone /] to hear about the cheapest rates.
What types of auto insurance discounts are offered in Georgia?
When getting a quote, you should ask your agent about the type of discounts offered by the insurance company. Here are some to inquire about:
- Good Student Discounts
- Multi-Car Discounts
- Homeowners Discounts
- Multi-Policy Discounts
- Georgia’s Defensive Driving Program Discount: You can qualify for this if you take a six-hour course to learn how to be a safer driver
What is proof of insurance?
Proof of insurance is a little piece of paper that shows law enforcement that you’re insured. Most states want to see an insurance card for this, but not Georgia. The only accepted proof of insurance is through the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System in your state. Police and government workers can look this up to make sure you’re insured, so you don’t need to carry a card (except for convenience if you’re in an accident).
Things You Don’t Want To Happen To You–Fines and Penalties
Drive without insurance and you can get into some serious trouble. Save yourself the headache of the consequences that could happen to you if you drive without insurance:
- 1st Offense: Expect a $200-$1,000 fine or up to 12 months in jail for failing to have insurance! This is no joke, people. The state of Georgia can even take away your license for 60 days. When you do get your license back, you’ll have to pay $200 for that too.
- 2nd Offense: Think the first offense was bad? With this, you’ll have to pay $200-$1,000 in fines and spend up to one year in jail. You’ll lose your license for 90 days and will have to pay $300 to get it back too.
It’s cheaper to get an auto policy for a year than pay all these fines, based on the average, so get one!
Did you know?*
Each year, the list of the most commonly stolen cars in Georgia is assembled. We bring this up because if you own one of the top stolen cars in Georgia, your premiums could go up. Here are the ones thieves love to take:
- Honda Accord
- Chevrolet Pickup
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Dodge Caravan
- Honda Civic
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Chevrolet Impala
- Dodge Pickup
- Toyota Camry
- Ford Explorer
*According to www.nicb.org
Insurance Experts Who Can Help
It’s no fun talking to a robot. It is fun talking to knowledge agents who know how to explain insurance in an understandable way. Our agents have years of experience with Georgia car insurance so they can help you compare rates and find answers to your questions. Call [mapi-phone /] to talk to a licensed agent now.