Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura Berry

Former Insurance Agent

Former Insurance Agent

Joshua Adamson

Joshua is a copywriter at Obrella who for more than 10 years has been creating content about insurance, health care, and more. He helps companies explain complex insurance subjects in simple ways so that customers can make smart buying decisions. He spends way too much time binge-watching Netflix, loves the outdoors and has a cat who tolerates him.

UPDATED: Mar 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Insurance makes us feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Much like how finding an affordable policy can give you an extra spring in your step. We compiled all the information you need to know as a Florida driver—from state laws and minimums to discounts you may be eligible for. Read all about it below or call an agent who will happily walk you through the spiel at [mapi-phone /].

What are the car insurance requirements for Florida?

Florida is a no-fault insurance state, which means if you are injured in a car accident, your insurance company will pay your medical bills up to your policy’s limits—regardless of who caused the accident. Below are the minimum coverage amounts a driver in Florida is required to carry on his/her policy:

  • $10K personal injury protection (PIP)
  • $10K property damage

Is buying additional auto insurance coverage worth it?

Like we said, if you’re in an accident your auto insurance company will only cover your bills up to the amount of your policy. Without the proper coverage, you can get stuck with some unexpected expenses. You can always add higher limits to the following categories for extra protection and peace of mind:

Collision Coverage – This coverage protects you hit another car or object and need repairs.

Medical and Funeral Services Coverage – Medical and funeral services coverage provides additional payments toward injury or funeral expenses related to an auto accident.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage – If you’re involved in a traffic accident caused by the other party and the cost of your car’s repairs exceed what the other driver’s insurance will cover, that’s what this insurance is for.

Rental Car Coverage – If you have this coverage and your car is damaged because of an accident, it’ll help pay for a rental car.

Towing and Labor Coverage – Towing and labor coverage pays for roadside assistance and/or towing costs of the policyholder’s vehicle.

What are the average rates Floridians pay for car insurance?

According to the Insurance Information Institute, Florida drivers pay some of the most expensive premiums and rank in the top five for highest paying states. When considering which coverage is right for you, be aware that the more coverage you add to your policy, the higher it will likely be. We analyzed rates for minimum coverage, and here is where we found the cheapest to be:

Average Annual Rate
Florida Farm Bureau
Auto Owners Group$1,351.70

Compare RatesStart Now →

Check out our full analysis to find the cheapest insurance in Florida by driver profile.

How are insurance premiums determined?

Like we mentioned above, adding additional coverage can increase your insurance premium. There are a handful of other things insurance companies use to determine auto insurance rates. Here’s the information most insurance companies analyze to determine your insurance premium:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Driving record
  • Address
  • Occupation
  • Credit score
  • Make and model of car
  • How car is used (commuting, farm work, business, etc.)
  • Amount of time car is used per day

Proof of Insurance—What You Must Know

In Florida, it is required that you have proof of insurance if you want to renew your license or register your car. You can also get into trouble with fines and penalties if you get pulled over or in an accident if you don’t have proof of insurance. Be aware your insurance card should contain the following:

  • Vehicle information: make, model, year, safety rating, and value
  • Your name and the name of any other drivers on your car’s policy
  • The expiration date of your insurance policy

Electronic Insurance Cards

Florida allows electronic insurance cards. A lot of insurance companies have apps where this information is kept, so as long as you have your phone, you’ll have your proof of insurance wherever you go.

Violations and Penalties

If you’re caught without proof of insurance, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can take away your license and registration for up to three years. So make sure you’re insured and can prove it!

Ways You Can Be Caught Without Proof Of Insurance

Insurance companies will tattle on you to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) if your auto insurance policy ends without renewal. Expect a notice from the DHSMV if you aren’t insured or if your insurance expires. If you don’t show proof within a certain timeframe, get ready for this unpleasantness:

  • $150 fee for your first offense
  • $250 fee for your second offense
  • $500 for each subsequent offense

Facing these penalties? You can submit proof of insurance online, in person, or by phone at 850-617-2000.

Punishment Also Comes In The Form Of Paid-In-Full Policies

The SR in SR-22 stands for “safety responsibility” and is required to reinstate a driver’s license if you’ve been convicted of a DUI, reckless driving, driving without insurance, or have had your license suspended. SR-22’s aren’t a type of insurance, but a form your insurance company will have to send to the DMV that will cost you service fees. (For more information, read our “How To Find The Best Auto Insurance Rates For Florida DUI Offenders“).

SR-22’s don’t make your insurance policy more expensive, but they do make you pay in-full for up to three years if you:

  • Cause an accident with injuries and/or property damage
  • Have your driver’s license is suspended due to excessive traffic violation points
  • Have your license revoked more than once

If you can’t afford to pay the annual average Florida car insurance price of about $2,000 in one lump sum, then you should do everything you can to avoid SR-22’s. (For more information, read our “Understanding Sr-22 Insurance In Florida: Your Guide To Peace Of Mind“).

More Bad Stuff To Avoid: FR-44 in Florida

Florida and Virginia are the only two states that use FR-44 insurance. The FR in FR-44 stands for “financial responsibility.” You have to get it if you’re convicted of a DUI and didn’t have minimum coverage for bodily injury liability (BIL) and property damage liability (PDL) on the date of arrest. You’ll also have to buy more coverage, which will cause your policy to go up. You’ll need:

  • $100,000 for injuries to one person
  • $300,000 for injuries to all people in one accident
  • 50,000 for property damage liability

What car makes and models are most commonly stolen in Florida?

People steal cars every. In Florida, here are the ones thieves have taken a liking to most*:

  • Ford Pickup (Full Size)
  • Honda Civic
  • Honda Accord
  • Nissan Altima
  • Toyota Camry
  • Toyota Corolla
  • Nissan Maxima
  • Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)

*According to

We don’t tell you this to make you worry. We just want you to know the risks with certain cars and that your premiums could go up if you drive one that’s commonly swiped.

Agents who speak human, not insurance.

Still confused about what is right for you? Call [mapi-phone /] to speak with an agent who can help guide you through the process of purchasing an insurance policy that meets your needs.

Additional Resources:

Free Insurance Comparison

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption